Ten Irvington Students Named National Merit Commended Students

The Irvington School District is proud to announce that the following ten seniors were named Commended Students in the 2010 National Merit Scholarship Program: Lauren Altamura, Evan Austin, Laura Becker, Ian Bruckner, Chelsey Burger, Joanne Holt, Hyangshim Kwak, Rebecca Macies, Zal Schroff and Daniel Swiecki.

Commended Students are the top 50,000 of the more than 1.5 million high school juniors who took the qualifying PSAT exam.

As noted recently, seniors Josh Bloom, Josh Kaplan, Lilianna Rembar, Zach Seigel and Gordon Steinberg were named Semifinalists. Semifinalists are the highest scoring entrants in each state, and represent less than 1 percent of the nation’s seniors. Of the 1.5 million who tested, 16,000 were named semifinalists. Semifinalists will have the opportunity to compete for approximately 8,200 Merit Scholarship awards totaling $36 million.

For more information, contact:
Deb Keiser
Office of Public Information
914-592-4203, ext. 3430

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recommended For You

About the Author: River Journal