Sleepy Hollow High School Sophomores Win Hall of Fame Essay Writing Contest

The Sleepy Hollow Historical Society has been sponsoring their Hall of Fame Essay Contest, in which sophomores at Sleepy Hollow High School research and write an essay nominating an individual who has contributed to the villages of Sleepy Hollow and Tarrytown, since 2003.

The Historical Society, in partnership with the Villages of Tarrytown and Sleepy Hollow, the Warner Library, the Hudson Valley Writers’ Center, and Sleepy Hollow High School, select a winning essay written by a student from each village. Along with a $250 cash prize for each winner, the winning essays are framed and mounted in the Warner Library for visitors to read.

This year, Sleepy Hollow sophomores Lily Sands and Claire Royston were honored for their essays at a ceremony held on Wednesday, May 23 at the Warner Library. Sleepy Hollow mayor, Ken Wray, and Tarrytown mayor, Drew Fixell, along with other local community officials and representatives from Sleepy Hollow High School, the Sleepy Hollow Historical Society, and the Warner Library were on hand to honor the two students. Lily Sands’ essay on artist Rockwell Kent and Claire Royston’s essay on John Paulding will hang along side previous winning essays written by Sleepy Hollow High School sophomores on the second floor of the Warner Library.

Click here for more event photos on Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recommended For You

About the Author: Alain Begun